2016: The Year That Wouldn’t Quit

I keep hearing that 2016 was a rollercoaster year for a lot of people – one with mostly lows for some. I know I hit a high in the mid to late summer, only to crash in November. I did a lot of studying, working and artistic soul searching this year.

I’ve recently started taking a break from social media, and it’s really taken the pressure off that I’ve been putting on myself to improve that I didn’t realize was stressing me out. It’s caused me to start painting in almost an artistic vacuum – compared to the years of time I’ve spent looking at artists on various online gallery sites and social media. I am coming to terms with the idea that at this point in my life, I want to turn towards abstraction. And I feel like I am letting a lot of people down, perhaps, by doing that, because of the history of what I’ve built up and been doing – figurative, illustrative, pop-art and fantasy-centric.

But, art is an evolution of the artist creating it. I have to allow myself to grow. When I was younger, I thought to myself, ‘I just want to make a living off my art.’ and I’ve stuck by that for years as my ‘dream’. Well, that ended up pressuring me into a corner where I was drawing and painting what I expected others to see, in hopes to sell it. Now, I realize my dream is, I want to be an artist. Creating, painting, drawing comes first.

Leave a Reply

